In a nutshell
The first written reference dates from the year 1444. The city of Třinec is a significant industrial and social center of the region with a domicile of one of the biggest ironwork companies in the Czech Republic. The population of the city is approximately 37 841.
During the first half of the 19th century Třinec was just one of many rural municipalities owned by the Chamber of Teschen that controlled property of the Hapsburgs in the Těšín area.
The foundation of the Třinec ironworks in 1839 became one of the main historic events of the municipality and its surroundings. Numerous deposits of iron ore, sufficiency of waterpower and seemingly inexhaustible timber reserves from the Beskyd mountains lead the Chamber of Teschen, which was owned by Archduke Charles of Austria, to open ironworks in Třinec. A furnace heated by wood and coal was constructed, in the surrounding municipalities the iron ore production and in the local woods the charcoal production started.
Critical important for further development of the city and the ironworks was the construction of the railway Kosice-Bohumin in 1871 that connected Třinec with the new deposits of iron ore in Slovakia. This enabled the import of carbon from the Ostrava-Karvina coal-mines and opened new ways for selling of iron in distant markets.
In the area of today’s village of Lyžbice in the years 1956-77 a new residence was constructed according to the project of studio of Ing. arch. Křelina from Hradec Králové. In Lyžbice resides now about 18 000 inhabitants. Thanks to its civic and cultural amenities Lyžbice became a new city center.
Afterwards there was the construction of the residence Sosna for 3 000 inhabitants and it is located on the hillside of Jahodná in the area of the village of Dolní Lištná. In Horní Líštné there is a border crossing to Poland.
An important part of the city is the village of Oldřichovice and it is situated on the foot of the mountain Javorový (elevation of 1032 m) with approximately 3000 inhabitants. Further south, under the mountain of Kozinec and Ostrý there is the village of Karpentná with 700 inhabitants. In the narrow, forested valley in between the mountains Javorový and Ostrý there is the village of Tyra with 400 residents. Over the years there were a lot of vacation centers and summer houses constructed.
Further north in Guty (700 residents) visitors can see the most significant historical monument of Třinec area – the wooden Chapel of Corpus Christi. In the presbytery you can find a little portal with the year 1563. In the body of the chapel there is a painted glyphic chair loft dating from 1626 and a bell tower added to the body originates from 1781.
In the western part of the city there is a village called Kanada (1 050 residents) and further towards Frýdek-Místek there is the village of Nebory (1500 residents). Along the railway towards Český Těšín is situated another part of the city – the village of Konská (1500 residents). The original village was destroyed, on this area now stands the Třinec Iron and Steel Works.
In the city you can visit the museum of the Ironworks and of the city itself, then you can visit little art gallery, observatory, cinema or one of the public libraries. The Community House offers its citizens numerous cultural, educational and artistic programs and activities. In Třinec there is a seat of the employment office, tax and municipal office with authorization for the whole region. Next to the primary schools there is also a grammar school, a private school of business and integrated secondary school. Visitors can spend pleasurable moments in numerous cozy restaurants and entertainment establishments.
Integrated secondary school – 1st Sep 2009 changed its name to Private secondary school that took over activities of the current secondary school Třinec – Kanada. This act was a recovery of tradition and this school became an affiliated company to the Třinec Iron and Steel Works. Some university studies, in combined form, are now available in the city. It concerns a branch of the University of mining industry and a branch of the University of business. For older people there has been already for a few years the University of the Third Age with lessons provided by University of Ostrava.
Třinec is surrounded by the charming Silesian and Moravio-Silesian Beskyd mountains with peaks Javorový, Ostrý and Čantoryje with an elevation of about 1000 m – see map of the region. Javorový is easy to reach by chair lift starting in the village of Oldřichovice throughout the whole year. At the top there is a tourist chalet providing accommodation, a ski resort with a snow cannon and ski lifts, slalom slope and a ski slope for less experienced skiers as well. There are also hillsides suitable for paragliding and hang gliding. On the outskirts there are deep picturesque valleys attracting hikers, mountain bikers. During the winter months there are downhill and cross country paths that attract skiers.
Ice hockey Extraliga (the Czech ice hockey league) is played in Třinec. There is an important weight-lifting tradition and the sport of orienteering achieved some success internationally. A football team plays in the second division league, Greco-Roman styled wrestling is at a good level, bodybuilding, bicycle motocross and road bicycle racing are all popular and competitive in Třinec.
In Třinec there are chess and billiard clubs that are also at a very high level nationally. Baby Club Kenny organizes unique swimming classes for toddlers.
The international highway E75 passes through the city. In Horní Líštna there is a new border crossing with Poland dedicated to passenger service.
Sports facilities on Lesní Street include an ice stadium, summer swimming pool, minigolf, tennis courts, sports hall, indoor swimming pool, saunas, football and athletics stadium, dirt playing field, grass training field and a bicycle motocross course. Other football fields (dirt and grass) are in Borek where there are also original laborers colonies with well-preserved old buildings. On Bezručova Street there is also a hand-ball field.
You can find quality accommodation and restaurants in local hotels, leisure centers and lodging-houses.
The city possesses a vast forest park suitable for walks and jogging.
In the surrounding area of "Pod Sosnou", by the Olza River, there is currently the richest Czech finding place of minerals strontianite and also calcite and celestine.
- Basic information >>
- Obligatory public informations
- History >>
- Photo - gallery
- -- >>
- Virtual View >>
- Maps of the town >>
- Council >>
- The Council Executive and The Municipal Council >>
- Municipal Decrees and Rulings >>
- Council Budget
- Grants and dotations
- Strategic Plan
- Action Plan
- The Development Plan
- Deluge plan
- City establishment
- Crisis Management >>
- Partnerská města
- -- >>